image in here

Ye Old Quindanning Inne
Australia's Golden Outback - Quindanning
Return to Country Pub list

The town of Quindanning is named after Quindanning Pool, located along the Williams River. Alfred Hillman discovered the pool in January 1835; the name is derived from the local Indigenous word "quinda", meaning "happy times".

When one of the first licensed premises in the area - the Lyndhurst Arms Hotel - closed between 1897 and 1900, local resident Henry Sherry Jr constructed a small mud-brick building and was issued a Wayside License on December 3rd, 1900.

A more substantial two-room brick building was later constructed (which can still be seen at the rear of the present Hotel). Over the years there were a number of licensees; but in 1921 it was acquired by local farmer and businessman Mr Frank Morgan. By substantially renovating the existing building (with bricks made onsite at the rear of the premises), Mr Morgan was responsible for developing the Hotel into one of Western Australia's best-known inland resort hotels between 1925 and the late 1950s.

The Quindanning Hotel is one of the most easily recognisable historic buildings in the district, and one that is still very much in use today. With it's generous use of Jarrah panelling, open wood fires (during winter), quiet location, large gardens and long verandahs, the Quindanning Hotel is ideal for a weekend or mid-week getaway.

The Hotel boasts a fully-licensed restaurant, 17 accommodation rooms, a traditional country guest-house, and a pool room with jukebox - all overflowing with unique old-world charm. Quindanning is a passionate supporter of live original music, so it is wise to keep your ears tuned for the exciting and extremely talented musicians that grace centre stage.

Lunches are served daily between 12 and 2, and evening meals are available from 6 to 8pm (6:30 - 8:30pm during daylight savings). Function catering is one of our specialties. George & Neta Lavender, along with their three sons Wesley, Rowan and Dylan, welcome you to the Quindanning Hotel.

A complimentary bottle of local wine with every dinner reservation for 2 or more - on presentation of this webiste offer. (Valid until 31 March 2011. Terms and conditions apply)

print View printable version

Details
Contact: Neta or Rowan Lavender
Tel:(08) 9885 7053
Email: lavender54@bigpond.com
Fax: (08) 9885 7149
Website: www.quindanninginne.com.au
Address: 9197 Pinjarra-Williams Road, Quindanning 6391



  • Stopping into the Hyden Hotel for a refreshment and then go on to visit Wave Rock. Stretching 100 metres long and 15metres high, it resembles a giant wave about to crash.
  • Visiting the Prospectors and Miners Hall of Fame in Kalgoorlie and chat with the locals over lunch at the Palace Hotel.
  • Hitting the red dirt for a close up view of Mount Augustus twice the size of Uluru.
  • The squeaky white sand of Esperance beaches make these the best in the country.
  • Immersing yourself in colour during the annual wildflower season.

 

 




 

www.westernaustralia.com www.ahawa.asn.au

If you are planning to drive after visiting a pub, please do so safely and remember the blood alcohol limit is 0.05
©Copyright Tourism Western Australia 2007